Overview of the Silicone

Silicone

Silicones are polymers that include any inert, synthetic compound made up of repeating units of siloxane. They are typically heat-resistant and rubber-like, and are used in sealants, adhesives, lubricants, medicine, cooking utensils, and thermal and electrical insulation.

Some common forms include liquid silicone oil, soft silicone gel, silicone rubber and regidity silicone resin, and silicone caulk.

Characteristics /Properties

  • Low toxicity
  • Low thermal conductivity and thermal stability
    Thermal conductivity
    is the property of conducting heat. The material, Silicone, of low thermal conductivity is often used as the purpose of thermal insulation. With the characteristic, the material provides high stability when being processed through a wide temperature range of -40℃~200℃ which makes the adhesion of different materials a significant technique to perform
  • Low chemical reactivity
  • Impact resistant
  • The ability to repel water and form watertight seals
  • Does not support microbiological growth
  • Resistance to oxygen, ozone, and ultraviolet (UV) light This property has led to widespread use of silicones in the construction industry (e.g. coatings, fire protection, glazing seals) and the automotive industry (external gaskets, external trim).
  • Electrical insulation properties silicone can be formulated to be electrically insulative or conductive, it is suitable for a wide range of electrical applications.
  • No "marked harmful effects on organisms in the environment" have been noted for silicones. They are non-biodegradable but are absorbed by solids in waste water treatment facilities. Degradation is catalyzed by various clays.

Products & Applications

The end products may take on diverse consistencies as hard plastic, rubber, gels, and liquids based on different demands and applications.

The liquid types-LSR, Liquid Silicone Rubber (so called LIMS, Liquid Injection Mold system), is extensively used in a wide range of industries and favored by infant-care, food container and medical device manufactures.

Mainly, silicone-made products benefit as high elongation, superior tensile strength, tear strength, resistance to extreme temperatures, and bacteria resistance.

The properties have contributed to the use of silicones in medical applications involving seals, plungers, valves, and gaskets in implanted and non-implanted devices. Common applications are skin protecting composition, prosthesis, seat cushion......etc.


Thermoplastic Polyurethane High Tech Film

Thermoplastic polyurethane is an advanced and high-performance technical film. It has excellent flexibility, durability and properties.

It could be used on various applications. Film could be bonded with fabric and work as an intermediate, great hydrolysis resistance and excellent UV stability are always good to use in medical products, great elongation performance is fabulous to shape and a eco-friendly material as bio-degradable.

Waterproof property is the primer choice to cover and protection. Soft, non-toxic, odorless, free of all plasticizers and softness are good to wrap silicone gel and maintain the shape and properties of silicone gel.

The table below is going to show why Thermoplastic polyurethane is preferable to other plastic films in terms of properties comparison.

TPU film comparison
  • Abrasion Resistance of High Tech TPU is 3-5 times stronger than Rubber. (In accordance with TABER test, Load 1000g, 23℃ Total cycles :5000)
  • Green Material: Bio-based made and Hydrolyzed.
  • Microbial Resistance: When hygiene is a concern, the polyether-based TPU films are the best choices to protect materials from microbial attacks such as bacteria and mildew.

原料介紹

矽膠

矽膠

一般俗稱的矽酮、矽利康或矽膠都是指『矽氧樹脂』,是一個介於有機與無機的聚合物,其化學式為[-R2SiO-]n。由無機矽氧鍵骨架(...-Si-O-Si-O-Si-O-...)和共價鍵與矽原子結合的支鏈有機基團組成;透過控制骨架的長度、有機基團的種類和骨架的交聯,可得到具有不同性質的矽氧聚合物,從液體的矽油到有柔軟彈性的矽凝膠、矽橡膠和剛性的矽樹脂。

矽膠可沉積於土壤中分解,對水生物無危害且無生物蓄積性,不含任何重金屬、塑化劑與有毒物質;因而是目前世界公認最具環保之素材,歐美日等國已普遍採用 Silicone 材料來取代其他材料。

矽膠擁有極為優越的溫度穩定性,可在-40℃~200℃溫度內穩定使用不變質,並擁有最佳的離型能力;因此,矽膠產品在加工製程中的矽膠原料與包覆材的結合和封口作業就顯得非常重要。

矽膠的型態,可簡單區分為固態矽膠及液態矽膠;又再各自分為縮合型矽膠和加成型矽膠。若以材料價格來說,固態矽膠的材料普遍單價較低,液態加成型矽膠多屬高單價;但用途卻各大不相同。

不同型態矽膠的材料物性不同,其用途也大不相同;研發階段需依據客戶的訴求並了解產品終端用途而選擇適合的矽膠型態: 固態矽膠:常用於耐熱及離型能力較佳者,但產品表面較粗糙無法精緻化。

液態縮合型矽膠:常用於耐高熱及離型力特優、不可有接痕與氣孔的用途;但機械性較差,加工壓力不能過高。液態加成型矽膠:常用於耐熱及離型力優、無亮點、無接痕、無研磨痕、高強度、高彈性的用途。但離型能力較差一些,因此加工製程的困難度是最高。

依據不同的使用需求,矽膠等級又分為工業用、食品用以及醫療用。工業用矽膠:特殊的電氣特性、耐熱/耐寒特性、抗候性、抗震性、抗化學特性、抗油性,常見於電子封裝、線路絕緣、緩衝配件、氣密防滲漏....等。

食品用矽膠:其不汙染性及無毒性,最常見的為食品加工業的輸送介質、食物裝盛器皿的防滲漏密封墊圈、奶嘴....等。醫療用矽膠:優越的穩定特性(低化學活性)、抗緩衝性、柔軟度佳,常用於醫療用導管、齒科複製材、體內填充彌補物、美容填充注入物、人工軟骨、義肢、鞋墊、醫用緩衝墊、皮膚貼片....等。


矽膠包覆材

液態加成型矽膠製品,因為使用目地與需求的不同,有部分產品需要包覆材將矽膠材料完整包覆。景運嚴格把關,蒐集來自不同國家的材料,歷經多年反覆的測試與研究,最後選定台灣製的高科技膜料,包含醚類、酯類、生物類與可回收的薄膜。

為了保持矽膠原料的優越物性,包覆材的物性及材質特性越顯得重要。高科技膜料的撕裂強度,由下面比較數字,可看出比一些常用塑橡膠優越

矽膠包覆材

耐磨性約為天然橡膠的3-5倍(採Taber法,荷重1000g,23℃摩擦5000次);水解特性,也是環保材料;部分特殊規格的高科技膜料還有顯著的防霉抗菌性。